This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

9.3 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.5
Comfort
9.1
Property location
9.8
Facilities
9.1
Staff
9.7
Value
8.7
Reviews
    Gary
    au
    10
    26 January 2018
    Great location/ helpful staff
    How
    my
    10
    10 January 2018
    Central location, gorgeous hotel and wonderful stay.
    Nothing.
    Excellent location. The hotel showcases beautiful interior design blending contemporary and traditional classic Chinese elements. Staff are super attentive, courteous and friendly making us felt extremely comfortable and welcome. Room and general areas are sparkling clean and quiet. Highly recommended hotel.
    us
    4.2
    21 November 2017
    What could have been better?! Just about everything!
    No Senior Management Staff onsite, only very young employees who do not speak English (except for one). Thus, all interactions were extremely frustrating and getting vital information was very difficult. 'Service' was very haphazard, with no consistency. The room was also a disappointment: no view, just an ugly wall and broken glass outside the window; the mattress on the bed had never been cleaned (we will spare you the details); the chairs in the room had no back support and were impossible to sit in comfortably; there were signs of improper 'cleaning' of the bathroom. In addition, the breakfast service was ok one morning, utterly awful the next : dirty dishes on the tables; no staff present at all; very slow service when someone finally did arrive, and no apologies for any of it. In addition, we took a tour booked through the hotel and then proceeded to spend the day in the dirtiest car interior that we have ever been in. Thus, there is no quality control whatsoever done by the hotel regarding the high priced excursions they are selling.
    Jb
    ca
    10
    30 October 2017
    Our favorite hotel in China!
    Loved this hotel! From the beginning to the end, this place was amazing! The hotel staff provided us with a private pickup from the train station (it is free!)... use it! The hotel is situated within the main square of Pingyao. We just came back from our backpacking trip in China and this was by far our favorite hotel. Breakfast was also very good!
    Foong Seong Leow
    my
    9.6
    21 October 2017
    Excellent place to stay. Ambience and staff support excellent.
    The room is really nice. The checked in counter and entrance lobby really nice. Location excellent. The staff really friendly and very helpful.
    Yukiwono
    id
    10
    5 October 2017
    For such an ancient city I really appreciate the comfort the hotel provided.
    I like the courtyard that provide tranquility and a lot books to read.
    World traveller
    gb
    7.1
    13 September 2017
    Nice but a tad overpriced for what it is
    The breakfast! The Chinese breakfast option was good, however, there was way too much food and you were only allowed one small hot drink with breakfast and if you wanted more than one hot drink you had to pay for it. Considering the price of the hotel in comparison to others in Pingyao, this was very irritating. Some staff were rather intrusive and we did feel at times that our every move was being monitored.
    The hotel was very clean and the room size was excellent, overall the hotel looked very nice. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel courtyard was quiet and relaxing.
    Cynthia
    cn
    10
    7 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    es
    8.3
    7 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Albert
    es
    9.2
    11 July 2017
    Best locati
    To say something the breakfast is not buffet. But they ask you what kind of breakfast you want (western or Chinese)
    The staff was amazingly glad with us. They took care of us all the time, also helped us to go to a bank to change money (it took almost 2 hours to do it...). Free transportation from train station. Best location possible inside the ancient city
    Piotr
    pl
    10
    29 June 2017
    excellent !!!
    nothing
    It was the best hotel during our 2 weeks trip across China (others were Crowne Plaza,Marriott etc).The hotel is incredible from the moment of check in to the last look on this beautiful building. The inside of the building was breathtaking. It was old, but the rooms were really modern. But the biggest surprise for me was the stuff of this hotel. They were all so nice and helpful, especially Mr. Tom, who disinterestedly lent me his bike. The breakfast was limited, but it was nothing in comparison with all the comfort, which this hotel offered to us. We travel a lot, but we have never seen such place like Water Hotel. I would recommend it to everyone.
    Winnie
    us
    9.2
    25 June 2017
    Wonderful staff and a charming small hotel!
    Nothing
    Staff was great! Helped set up a local driver. Suggestions about where to go in town. Suggested good restaurants. Location was great - right in the middle of the old town. The inn is on the smaller side and charming. Rooms are very attractive and fresh. While touring in the area I sprained my ankle. The staff offered to take me to the doctor. Supplied lots of ice. Insisted on moving us to a first floor room that would be more convenient as I hobbled around. Sent a staff member to buy me a cane to use to get around. Absolutely great service! Then helped with luggage at the train station when we were ready to go on to Beijing. Wonderful staff. Many spoke English. When they did not understand, they quickly located another staff member who could help or pulled out their translation apps. Wonderful stay. And we will remember the hotel's staff fondly.
    Chia chen
    tw
    9.6
    18 June 2017
    Meal
    Friendly staff
    Charity
    hk
    10
    18 June 2017
    Perfect accommodation!
    EXCELLENT!
    Excellent staff~ And location~
    George
    th
    10
    30 May 2017
    Great Stay! Friendly Staff!
    Beautiful room.
    Yim Kong
    au
    9.6
    25 May 2017
    Ancient town, modern facilities
    Shower area
    Ambience & helpful staff
    Adeyemi
    ch
    10
    20 May 2017
    Fantastic and affordable boutique hotel with perfect location
    There wasn't anything we didn't like.
    The entire hotel is very beautifully designed and the rooms are of an extremely high standard with a very boutique feel about them. Felt like we were in a hotel that should cost at least twice the price ! The staff were also extremely attentive and helpful, being eager to practice their English which was already of an understandable standard. Finally, the location is absolutely perfect being at the top of one of the main streets which meant that you turned left out of the hotel and could access the ancient city wall in 1 minute or turned right and were into the shops and restaurants in seconds.
    Pedro
    pt
    7.1
    7 May 2017
    Great hotel but very noisy
    Everynight we stayed there we woke up with the noise from the kitchen staff cutting vegetables at 6am, other guest checking out at 7am and the music from the breakfast cafe at 8 am. Not what you'd expect for what you pay. This was the most expensive hotel in our China trip and because of the noise and the poor breakfast it didn't met our expectations.
    Great boutique hotel on a great Pingyao location.
    Gad
    cn
    9.2
    4 May 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Anonimo
    es
    8.3
    2 May 2017
    Transporte a la China milenaria
    Que no hablaban ingles
    El ambiente original del hotel
Loading reviews